Volunteer researchers are providing expertise and mentorship to networked learning communities interested in building their capacity
as a learning community. Together, they form the International Scientific Committee on Communities of Learners (IsCoL).

Researchers participated in a symposium held in Barcelona in October 2001. A book on learning communities is in progress,
and will be edited by Mireia Montané, former director of the education program of the Universal Forum of Cultures. The vision of interconnected
learning communities has been put forward (2000) in the education programme's 10th theme, New media and communication technologies.

Most ISCoL researchers have expertise in learning communities that integrate information and communication technologies (ICTs).
The Committee includes:

. Alain Breuleux, McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
. NiKi Davis (Society for Information Technology and Teacher Education,
SITE)
. Ann FitzGibbo, Trinity College, Ireland
. Thérèse Laferrière, Laval University, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada
. Bob Moon, Open University, United Kingdom
. Mary Lamon, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education, University of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
. Gaston Mialaret, University of Caen, France
. Mireia Montané, Universal Forum of Cultures Education Former Program Coordinator, Barcelona, Spain
. Marlene Scardamalia, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education, University of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
. Mark Schlager (SRI), Stanford, CA

IsCoL has a Canadian chapter advising NIS schools on learning communities supported by ICTs. IsCoL Canada
includes the following persons:

Chair:
Thérèse Laferrière, Laval University
tlaf@fse.ulaval.ca

Secretary:
Mary Lamon, OISE/UT
mlamon@kf.oise.utoronto.ca
Tel: 416-923-6641 Ext. 2571

Alain Breuleux, Mcgill University
Breuleux@education.mcgill.ca
Tel: 1-514-398-6952

Milton Campos, Université de Montréal
milton.campos@UMontreal.CA
Tel: 1-514-343-2066

Galeen Erickson, University of British Columbia
gaalen@unixg.ubc.ca
Tel.: 1-604-822-2733

Margaret Haughey, University of Alberta
margaret.haughey@ualberta.ca
Tel: 780-492-7609

Tyler Hawkins
Northwest Territories

Marlene Scardamalia, OISE/UT
mscardamalia@kf.oise.utoronto.ca
Tel: 416-923-6641 Ext. 2571

Mhairi (Vi) Maeers, University of Saskatchewan
maeers@uregina.ca
Tel: 306-585-4601

Sandy McAuley, U of Prince Edward Island
amcauley@upei.ca
Tel: 902-566-0944

Elizabeth Murphy, Memorial University
emurphy@mun.ca
Tel: 709 579 9221

ISCOL United States current coordinator is James Gray, SRI.

James Gray
jim.gray@sri.com
Tel: 650/859-3129

Likely participants include
. Katherine Bielaczyc, Harvard University
. Barbara Means, SRI